This site is still HEAVILLY wip!

August 20: Back With An (Arguable) Vengance.

I wanted to take a bit of a break from updating this site, but honestly didn't expect to take THIS long of a break. The main reason this break was even this long to begin with was because I just didn't have enough to talk about to really be worth an update.

I decided to move on from my Breakout clone attempt, wait a while, then restart learning game development fresh with a new and far better tutorial that I'm going to start following. I managed to find one that is apparently reccomended for beginners, for a Vampire Survivors clone. From what I know about it so far, apparently the creator designed much of the code so that you can repurpose it for many different genres of games, with the player controller specifically mentioned as one of the things you can easilly repurpose with a few minor tweaks.

I've also watched a video about Game Design Documents, or GDDs, and decided to start to put a GDD together for my dream game, which I also finally came up with a decent name for, Errorgrove Isle. Putting the GDD together really brought into focus the scope of the whole project, but there really isn't much I can do to reduce it right now. There are a few game features I did decide to move into post-release free updates to reduce the scope a bit, though.

I also decided to make the "My Games" section of the site now, despite not really having anything to put in it yet, mainly so that I can easilly set it up later when I do make my first game and feel comfortable releasing it.

I've also decided to start solving an ARG of all things, too. I've been watching some of Mollystars' videos, and her most recent video, "DELTARUNE and the Fourth Wall || THE DEVICE THEORY [PART 3: FINALE]", appaently has an ARG in it that I can barely find any info on anywhere. I honestly kind of want to be the one to document it, or at least try to solve it on my own. So far, I got the only part that was solved in the comments, which led to an unlisted Youtube video, along with a couple of other ciphers that I still need to solve. There's also some ciphers from earlier in the video that I previously ignored that I need to write down since that was before I decided to solve the thing (though considering the video is 6+ freaking hours long that may take a while, but there are a few hints I found that actually narrows the time each missed cipher could be located in a bit).

Anyway, I'll likely start working on relearning game development soon, and I'll be posting occasional updates on this site too.